Nigeria’s world cup squad

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Dele Aiyenugba (Bnei Yehuda, Israel), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Petach Tikvah, Israel)

Defenders: Taye Taiwo (Marseille, France), Elderson Echiejile (Rennes, France), Chidi Odiah (CSKA Moscow,

Super Eagles
Super Eagles

Russia), Joseph Yobo (Everton, England), Ayodele Adeleye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands), Rabiu Afolabi (SV Salzburg, Austria), Danny Shittu (Bolton Wanderers, England)

Midfielders: Kalu Uche (Almeria, Spain), Dickson Etuhu (Fulham, England), John Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England), Sani Kaita (Alaniya, Russia), Haruna Lukman (AS Monaco, France), Yusuf Ayila (Dynamo Kiev, Ukraine)

Strikers: Yakubu Aiyegbeni (Everton, England), Chinedu Ogbuke Obasi (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany), Nwankwo Kanu (Portsmouth, England), Obafemi Martins (Wolfsburg, Germany), John Utaka(Portsmouth, England), Victor Obinna Nsofor (Malaga, Spain), Osaze Odemwingie (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia).

Victor Anichebe and Ike Uche have been left out of the Nigeria squad as Lars Lagerback’s named his 23 players for the World Cup.

Also left out are Peter Utaka, Onyekachi Apam, Brown Ideye and the two domestic league players Akpan Bassey and Terna Suswan.

The Swede announced the cull to the players on Monday, where he also explained to them why they were being dropped.

He mentioned that time was too short and injuries also played a part and assured them that he expected them to work hard enough to feature prominently after the World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *