Arsenal’s Wilshere, Liverpool’s Pacheco and Mario Balotelli nominated for Golden Boy award

Jack WilshereArsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere , Liverpool attacker Dani Pacheco and Manchester City’s Italian striker Mario Balotelli are among the nominees for this year’s ‘Golden Boy’ award.
The poll for the top young player in European football born after 1 January 1989, is organized by Italian daily Tuttosport.  Thirty journalists from top European sporting media will decide which player has performed best over the calendar year.

Wilshere has established himself in the Arsenal team, while controversial figure Balotelli played his part in Inter Milan’s treble success last season before securing a big money move to Manchester City.  Liverpool’s Dani Pacheco was one of the stars of last summer’s European under-19 championship, finishing as the tournament’s top scorer.

Other English-based players in the 40 nominees include Manchester United trio Federico Macheda, Bebe and Rafael, Chelsea’s Gael Kakuta and Aston Villa’s Nathan Delfouneso.

Past winners of the award include Barcelona’s Lionel Messi (2005), Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney (2004) and Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas (2006).

Although Arsenal star Wilshere has made big strides this year, the favourites for the award are likely to include Anderlecht’s star striker Romelu Lukaku and Atletico Madrid goalkeeper David De Gea, who helped his side win the Europa League.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

André – Dinamo Kiev
Mario Balotelli – Manchester City
Bebé – Manchester United
Yacine Brahimi – Stade Rennes
Sergio Canales – Real Madrid
Diego Contento – Bayern München
Philippe Coutinho – Internazionale
David de Gea – Atlético Madrid
Luuk de Jong – FC Twente
Nathan Delfouneso – Aston Villa
Mattia Destro – Genoa
Douglas Costa – Shakhtar Donetsk
lan Dzagoev – CSKA Moskou
Christian Eriksen – Ajax
Mario Gotze – Borussia Dortmund
Eden Hazard – Lille OSC
Abel Hernandez – Palermo
Gaël Kakuta – Chelsea
Bojan Krkic – FC Barcelona
Toni Kroos – Bayern München
Adem Ljajic – Fiorentina
Romelu Lukaku – Anderlecht
Federico Macheda – Manchester United
Joël Matip – Schalke 04
Fran Mérida – Atlético Madrid
Ezequiel Muñoz – Palermo
Musacchio – Villareal
Yann M’Vila – Rennes
Sotirios Ninis – Panathinaikos
Dani Pacheco – Liverpool
Marcus Pedersen – Vitesse
Miralem Pjanic – Olympique Lyon
Rafael – Manchester United
Gastón Ramírez – Bologna
Riviere – Saint Etienne
James Rodríguez – FC Porto
Mamadou Sakho – Paris Saint-Germain
Eduardo Salvio – Benfica
André Schürrle – FSV Mainz
Jack Wilshere – Arsenal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *